About Uzbekistan

Formal name: The Republic of Uzbekistan

Location of Uzbekistan: The Republic of Uzbekistan is situated in the central part of Central Asia between two rivers: Amu Darya and Syr Darya. There are Turan Lowland in the northwest, and Tien-Shan and Pamir-Alay mountain ridges in the southeast of the territory. Kyzyl Kum Desert is in the North. Uzbekistan borders Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Tadjikistan, and Afghanistan in the South.

Capital: Tashkent

Area: total 448.900 km2: land: 425.400 km2, water: 22,000 km2.

Land boundaries: total: 6.221 km, border countries: Afghanistan 137 km, Kazakhstan 2.203 km, Kyrgyzstan 1.099 km, Tajikistan 1.161 km, Turkmenistan 1.621 km

Population: more than 31,5 million people

Language: Uzbekistan is multination country. Uzbek is the state language, Russian is the language of international communication.

Administrative and Territorial Structure: Autonomous Republic of Karakalpakistan, 12 regions, 226 cities and districts.

Religion: Islam

Currency: All payments must be done in sum, the national currency of the Republic of Uzbekistan. Currency exchange offices are available in every city of Uzbekistan. More about Uzbek currency…

National Symbols: Flag of Uzbekistan, Emblem of Uzbekistan.

Climate: The climate of Uzbekistan is extremely continental with a great number of sunny days. Average monthly temperature in January is from 10 to +3oC. Summer is hot and dry. Average monthly temperature in July is from +35 to +45oC. Autumn is warm enough and is the season when delicious fruits and vegetables are in abundance in numerous bazaars (markets). Average annual temperature is 13oC.